Monday 5 October 2015

Celebration Lunch for 50 years of Planning at Oxford Brookes University

This year sees the 50th anniversary of planning courses at Oxford Brookes University (and its predecessor the great Oxford Polytechnic). On 11 September 2015, staff past and present gathered at the home of Professor John Glasson, previous Head of the (then) School of Planning. Together with the current Head, Professor Georgia Butina Watson, they hosted a celebratory lunch to commemorate the occasion.

In its fifty years the Department of Planning has seen many staff and students through its doors. Originally the first course in planning studies was established in 1962, within the Department of Architecture in the Oxford College of Technology. A few years later, a separate Department of Town Planning was constituted and, by 1973, there were just under 100 postgraduates and just over 100 undergraduates studying on a range of courses at the newly named Oxford Polytechnic. These numbers increased to about 600 in total by the 1990s. The Department of Town Planning later became the School of Planning and then the Department of Planning. The School/Department has also moved locations around the campus - most latterly in the refurbished and extended Abercrombie Building.This year the Department of Planning joined with the Department of Real Estate and Construction to form the School of the Built Environment.

See if you can spot those attending from the photo collages. There's the list of the staff who were there underneath and those who gave their apologies.

Staff (past and present) who were there:
Malcolm Airs
Sue Bartlett
Sue Batty
Mike Batty
Bob Bixby
Mike Breakell
Stephen Brown
Sue Brownill
Georgia Butina Watson
Gina Dalton (Ennis-Reynolds)
Jane Darke
Roy Darke
Laura De Novo Azevedo
Lesley Downing
Pete Edwards
Martin Elson
Jamie Elwin
Maria Farone
Roger France
Jenny Franklin
Andy Glass
John Glasson
Brian Goodey
Philip Grover
Mohamed Hamza
Peter Headicar
Karen Hughes
Tracey Isaac
Tim Jones
Roger Keable
Suki Kenth
Ian Lyne
Sharon Manclark
Tm Marshall
Paul McNamara
Chris Minay
Caroline Morrell
Lucy Murfett (Nichol)
Jake Piper
Alan Reeve
Graham Smith
Pete Smith
Riki Therivel
Keith Thomas
Michelle Thomas
Huw Thomas
Carolin Tidbury
Catherine Tranmer
Philip Turner
Dave Valler
Stephen Walker
Steve Ward
Elizabeth Wilson
Graham Wood
Rob Woodward
Emma Wragg
Roger Zetter

Apologies were received from:
Cassandra Blake
Liz Cairncross
Juliet Carpenter
Ruth Collins
Carey Curtis
Bridget Durning
Kerry Godfrey
Michael Hebbert
Amanda Holden
Roddy Macdonald
Roger Mason
Maureen Millard
John Minett
Claire Mountford
Richard Nunes
Geoff Payne
Derek Portman
Agustin Rodriguez-Bachiller
James Simmie
Ben Spencer
Peter Stanley

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.